somewhat bookish.

What I Read: May June 16, 2014

Filed under: Random Reading — cransell @ 9:34 am
Tags:

I read 3 books in May – 1 fiction, 2 non-fiction, all in print.

The Grand Tour by Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer. The sequel to Sorcery & Cecelia. In this book, Cecelia and her cousin Kate go on a Grand Tour of Europe, with their new husbands, and run into a magical plot to control all of Europe. Not quite as good as the first, to me, but still great fun.

The Good Mother Myth: Redefining Motherhood to Fit Reality edited by Avital Norman Nathman. A great collection of essays about motherhood from a wonderfully diverse group of contributors. I won a free copy of this book in a Facebook contest.

Katie Gale: A Coast Salish Woman’s Life on Oyster Bay by LLyn De Danaan. I don’t think I’ve ever read a history book by an anthropologist before, and I have to say that I liked it. De Danaan has definitely meticulously researched her subject matter, but she also takes some well-reasoned leaps of faith as she describes the life of Katie Gale, an Indian Woman, who married a European-American settler, on Oyster Bay, not too far from Olympia in the late 1800s. As an East Coast gal, I’m not as familiar with the history of the Pacific Northwest, so this was an interesting, leisurely read for me. I got a free copy of this book through LibraryThing’s Early Reviewers program.

 

2 Responses to “What I Read: May”

  1. Janis Ansell Says:

    Busy month when you only read 3 books. Still, that’s more than me. They all sound interesting.

    Like

  2. kestrel127 Says:

    I love the Sorcery & Cecilia books, but the Grand Tour is definitely the weakest of the three. The Mislaid Magician is a lot more fun.

    Like


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 616 other followers