Read This! Little Goblins Ten

24196036275_4010a9812c_z

With Halloween around the corner, I recommend the mildly spooky, totally sweet counting tale, Little Goblins Ten, written by Pamela Jane and illustrated by Jane Manning. All manner of supernatural parents and their children (monsters, mummies, witches, goblins, etc) practice their skills (scaring, moaning, cackling, leaping, etc) before meeting up to Trick or Treat. I especially like how it alternates between mommies and daddies with their respective offspring. Perfect for preschoolers.

You may also enjoy these Halloween picture books that I wrote about a few years ago.

Read This! Little Goblins Ten

What I Read: September 2016

I read 6 books in September. 3 were fiction, 3 were non-fiction. 2 were on the Kindle, 4 were in print. All but one were by authors of color.

Bring on the Blessings by Beverly Jenkins (2009).

The first book in Jenkins’ Blessings series. I was introduced the series when I got the 6th book through Early Reviewers. I read it back in January and thoroughly enjoyed. Just a feel-good, Maeve Binchy-esque series about a historically black town in Kansas, which is bankrupt and puts itself up for auction on eBay. Purchased by billionaire, Bernardine Brown, who wants to turn the town into a haven for foster children. Such a good, light read.

Confessions of a Failed Southern Lady by Florence King (1985).

A humorous memoir of growing up in DC in the 1940s & 1950s. I loved all the discussion of places I know in DC. The last third includes some very frank discussion of King’s sexual awakening and relationships with men and women.

The Fire This Time: A New Generation Speaks about Race edited by Jesmyn Ward (2016).

This book is fantastic. Not a weak essay in the bunch. I especially loved Daniel Jose Older’s. Read it, read it, read it.

Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee (2016).

Mercy Wong has an plan – to gain admission to an elite girl’s school in San Francisco in 1906 and then leverage that education and connections for business success. Such a great YA read!

It Ain’t So Awful, Falafel by Firoozeh Dumas (2016).

Middle schooler Zomorod (aka Cindy) Yousefzadeh moves to Newport Beach, California with her parents, and is soon faced with both the normal troubles of middle school and the Iranian Hostage Crisis. Her father, an engineer in the U.S. working on a U.S.-Iranian oil project loses her job. Despite the serious subjects in the book, it is funny and heartwarming. An enjoyable read.

March, Book Two by John Lewis (2015).

This graphic novel autobiography series by John Lewis is just fantastic. I can’t wait to read the third!

What I Read: September 2016

Read This! Leo: A Ghost Story

2016-10-01_12-31-29

Leo is a ghost, yes, but a very friendly one. He makes delicious snacks and loves to draw and play. In this tale, when Leo frightens a family that moves into his house, he knows that will never do. He doesn’t want to frighten any one, so he moves out. It’s a little scary being out in the world, but luckily enough he finds a new place he belongs. This is not a Halloween story, but in a month when there are a lot of scary things about, it’s nice to read about a ghost who you would want to be friends with!

Read This! Leo: A Ghost Story

What I Read: August

I read 11 books in August. 6 were fiction, 5 were non-fiction. 1 on Kindle, 1 on Audiobook, the rest in print. Only one was a writer of color, so clearly I need to work on this. Trying to make the majority of books I read by writers of color in the next few months.

Spider-Woman: Shifting Gears Vol. 1: Baby Talk by Dennis Hopeless (2016).

Here’s all you need to know about this book: Spider-Woman is a pregnant superhero. It is just as awesome as you are now imagining.

The Family Fletcher Takes Rock Island by Dana Alison Levy (2016).

So happy for a second offering of my new favorite middle grades family. The Family Fletcher is two (white) dads, and four sons – all adopted, two white and two black. In this book, the family goes on their annual summer vacation to Rock Island, but are surprised by the changes on the island (the lighthouse is closed! they have new neighbors!).

I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest (2015).

A really interesting mystery about a girl whose childhood friend died in a car accident, who suddenly starts seeing around town, art featuring Princess X, a character she created with the (dead?) friend. A mix of comic and text and a total page turner.

Go-Go Live: The Musical Life and Death of a Chocolate City by Natalie Hopkinson (2012).

Go-Go is a musical style that originated (and remains most popular) in the DC area. This was an interesting look at both the music and the racial history of DC the second half of the 1900s.

Lumberjanes: Out of Time by Shannon Watters (2016).

Fourth volume of the Lumberjanes series. Always worth reading.

Sisters in Law: How Sandra Day O’Connor and Ruth Bader Ginsburg Went to the Supreme Court and Changed the World by Linda Hirshman (2015).

I listened to this book on audiobook for Task 6 of Read Harder 2016 (Read a biography). It was an interesting look at the education and legal careers of the first two women on the Supreme Court – and at the friendship between the two.

Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur, Volume 1: BFF by Amy Reeder (2016).

Once I heard that 9 year old, Lunella Lafayette, aka Moon Girl, had been declared the smartest girl in the Marvel universe, I knew I had to read this book! A great addition to the strong, diverse cast of female superheroes these days!

Spectacles by Sue Perkins (2015).

A very funny memoir by one of the hosts of the Great British Bake Off. I totally enjoyed it. If you are interested in reading, let me know. I don’t think it was published here in the U.S. – I ordered by copy used off Amazon.

Prez Vol. 1 by Mark Russell (2016).

A satirical political comic about a teenager elected President at a time when voting on Twitter is allowed! Dark but weirdly hopeful.

Dimestore: A Writer’s Life by Lee Smith (2016).

Thoroughly enjoyable memoir of growing up in Appalachian Virginia, with parents who were “kindly nervous” and Smith’s development of herself as an author. Although I grew up in the “urban” rather than rural South, Smith really captured some truths about my own experience as a Southerner. I got this book through the LibraryThing Early Reviewer’s program.

Capitol Men: The Epic Story of Reconstruction Through the Lives of the First Black Congressmen by Philip Dray (2010).

I had been wanting to read this book for a while – Reconstruction is an era I probably haven’t read about since elementary school and I’m a bit of politics nerd – hazard of being a legislative researcher. It didn’t disappoint – really interesting look at the history of an era of hope and change and violence and regression. I counted this for Task 21 of Read Harder 2016.

What I Read: August

Read This! Grimelda: The Very Messy Witch

2016-10-01_12-32-34

October is always a good time to read about witches! In this rhyming tale by Diana Murray, Grimelda believes that “messed is best”. However, when she can’t find the pickle root she needs for a recipe, she knows it’s time for drastic measures: CLEANING. Heather Ross’s illustration show us a witch who is friendly, not scary.

Read This! Grimelda: The Very Messy Witch

What I Read: July 2016

I read 7 books in July. 3 were non-fiction, 4 were fiction. 2 were on Kindle, 5 were in print. 2 were by writers of color.

How to Grow Up: A Memoir by Michelle Tea (2015).

I loved this book in a way that I think you only would if Tea’s earlier books had been important to you and you were so glad to see that she grew up to be totally okay. Tea is just a few years older than me and she was publishing books about being a broke, queer, 20-something feminist performance artist when I was in my 20s and also fairly broke and totally queer and going to a lot of spoken word performances. I’m older now and married and a mom and most days the only other queer person I see is my wife, but that history is still there and so to see this person who was (through her work) a part of that part of my life, a person who was struggling with addiction, whose life was hard be able to do things that are meaningful to her like go to Fashion Week in Paris, was pretty great. If you don’t have this sort of connection to Tea’s work though, I can see how the book would come off as sort of consumeristic. But like all of us, Tea deserves nice things. And I’m happy she’s got them!

Lumberjanes Vol. 3: A Terrible Plan by Noelle Stevenson (2016).

When you want to up the numbers of books completed for your library’s summer reading program, comics are really the way to go. I always enjoy Lumberjanes. This one did not disappoint.

SuperMutant Magic Academy by Jillian Tamaki (2015).

Sort of weird, but good, but odd. Harry Potter, if Harry Potter was just about the general awfulness of high school and not about saving the world.

Gone Crazy in Alabama by Rita Williams-Garcia (2015).

In the last book in the Gaither Sisters trilogy, they go to visit Big Ma in Alabama for the summer. A good mix of the freedom of a country summer, the annoyance of sisters, and the danger of being black in the South in the 1960s. The whole trilogy is great and I highly recommend it.

Drama by Raina Telgemeier (2012).

Do you like graphic novels and books for children/tweens? You should read everything Telgemeier has ever written. The end.

Water Tossing Boulders: How a Family of Chinese Immigrants Led the First Fight to Desegregate Schools in the Jim Crow South by Adrienne Berard (2016).

A slim but fascinating book that I got through LibraryThing’s Early Reviewers program about a desegregation case I knew nothing about – a challenge by the Lum family in the 1920s to school segregation in Mississippi. Berard does an especially great job of placing the case in context, tracing the line of Chinese immigration into the U.S. and to Mississippi, showing the changes attempted during Reconstruction and the crushing racism and segregation that existed in the South at that time. Really glad I read it!

Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman by Lindy West (2016).

I loved this book SO much. As a feminist I sometimes find feminist books boring, because I don’t need convincing, I’m already there. This one was insightful and personal. Her ability to have both rightful feminist rage and to forgive makes her a total role model for me. I’ve loved Lindy’s writing since her Stranger days and this book made me love it more. You should read it. Yes, you.

What I Read: July 2016

What I Read: June 2016

So behind on my round-ups! I read 7 books in June. 5 were fiction, 2 were non-fiction. 5 were in print, one was an audiobook and one was on the Kindle. Four were by authors of color (making June the only month so far where I have exceeded my 50% goal)

The Truth About Twinkie Pie by Kat Yeh (2015).

There have been a lot of recent changes in 12-year-old GiGi’s life. First her sister and guardian won a million dollar prize in a baking contest, then they up and moved from SC to the North Shore of Long Island and GiGi started a fancy new school. Soon enough she is making new friends and unraveling family mysteries in this middle grade novel.

Negroland: A Memoir by Margo Jefferson (2015).

An interesting memoir from critic Margo Jefferson about growing up at the intersection of race and privilege. A glimpse at a black upper middle class childhood in Chicago in the 1940s, 50s & 60s. Well worth reading.

Superfluous Women by Carola Dunn (2015).

The 22nd book in the Daisy Dalrymple mystery series takes us to the countryside where Daisy is convalescing after an illness. While visiting a school friend, a body is discovered (of course). This series is fun and fluffy, just what the doctor ordered.

Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel (2012).

I listened to this one on audiobook. I loved Wolf Hall, although it was sometimes hard to follow all the Thomases, Marys and Janes, and I worried that I would be totally lost on audio, but it was really fine. Sometimes the names would float right over me, but mostly I kept up fine. I counted this one for Read Harder Task 15 (a book of historical fiction set before 1900).

The Language of Baklava by Diana Abu-Jaber (2006).

I am always on the look out for a good food memoir, and this did not disappoint. Diana Abu-Jaber tells of her life, growing up in America (and Jordan) with a Jordanian father, American mother, and lots of really delicious Jordanian food. She has a new food memoir out and I can’t wait to read it!

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor (2011).

I picked this up because it was described as a read-alike for Harry Potter, and it did not disappoint! Sunny, a 12-year-old Nigerian girl with albinism, discovers she has magical powers and has to learn how to control them, while trying to stop a magical serial killer with her classmates. I CANNOT WAIT for the next book in the series to come out.

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Volume 2: Squirrel You Know It’s True by Ryan North (2015).

Squirrel Girl is my favorite Superhero. If you want to read a comic that makes you smile (and is appropriate for all ages), pick up Squirrel Girl!

What I Read: June 2016