The Country of the Pointed Firs

The Country of the Pointed Firs by Sarah Orne Jewett is the second book I’ve read from DailyLit (which is just one of my absolute favorite things). I picked it because I had never read any of Jewett’s work and she is a Maine author. Since my girlfriend is from Maine (and New Hampshire), I thought I should finally read some of her stuff. (I can relate any aspect of life back to reading!) I’m glad I did. The Country of the Pointed Firs was a totally enjoyable, pleasant read. Nothing too much happens, but you get a great sense of a small, coastal Maine community and the people who inhabit it. Jewett does a great job writing the dialog in a Maine accent as well.  The book reminded me a lot of the Anne of Green Gables books, which I devoured as a kid – not so much because of the plot (like I said, there isn’t much of one), but because of the Northeastern locales.

The Country of the Pointed Firs

Leave a Reply

