Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows

So I got to the last Harry Potter almost exactly a year late… at least I got there. And I think I enjoyed it more than I would have last summer. I think my expectations had been tempered by those who read before me (plus I was in a better reading place). So that by the time I dug in Sunday before last (on my big weekend of reading), I was able to slip right into that happy, do-nothing-but-read-Harry-Potter-and-finish-in-less-than-a-day place. I did in fact start the book last summer, and was about 100 pages in, but not really feeling it, when my apartment burned down and took (my full set of) Harry Potter with it. But I thought I should finish the series and so when I was at the library last, I picked it up. I won’t make any comments on the plot (either it’s known because it’s already been read) or totally uninteresting (because it’s never going to be read), but, for me, it was a great finish to a series that was both totally enjoyable on a personal level and really highlighted the joy of reading on a macro level.

Now I wait for the next big reading phenomena.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows

Leave a Reply

