Another Thing to Fall

I got so excited about posting about Northanger Abbey, that I forgot to write about the book that I had finished the night before. Another Thing to Fall by Laura Lippman is the 10th book in the Tess Monagham series, which is probably my favorite mystery series at the moment. The books are all set in Baltimore which is a city with a lot of character and also a city with which I am somewhat familiar. It’s always interesting to read about a place that you know. Like her protagonist, Lippman was formerly a reporter for a Baltimore newspaper and she’s uses her knowledge of the city well.

Having been disappointed by my last mystery, I was happy to see that I still like Lippman and this series, even after 10 years (the first book was published in 1997, and I read it not long after – it’s good to have librarians in the family who pass books along!). Lippman has also published several really good, standalone mysteries, if you want to try her out without getting sucked into a series.

Another Thing to Fall

Leave a Reply

