The Story of Edgar Sawtelle

The Story of Edgar Sawtelle is the first novel by David Wroblewski and it’s a good one. My neighbor read and loved it at the beginning of the summer and then passed it on to me (let’s hear it for neighbors who are BIG readers!) – and then suddenly I was hearing about it everywhere – on NPR in the morning, in an email from my local independent bookstore. One thing that gets mentioned a lot is that The Story of Edgar Sawtelle is inspired by Hamlet, and once I heard that, it actually turned me off the book for a little while. Because I felt like I knew that bad things were coming – and to a character that I cared about. In the end though, I’m glad I finished and I would recommend it to others, but it was definitely a slow read for me.

The Story of Edgar Sawtelle

Leave a Reply

