A Quick Post and a Lament

Business first. A week ago I finished The Last Fish Tale by Mark Kurlansky. It was good – nothing brilliant, but an enjoyable and quick read. I like Kurlansky, even though this is only the second book of his that I’ve ever read. (The first was A Basque History of the World, which I liked even more). But I like that he writes about specific narrow sections of the world, history through a very specific lens. (Two of his other books are Salt: A World History and Cod: A Biography of the Fish That Changed the World). I like history a lot, but I especially like looking at it in this very limited way. It’s interesting to me. So, if you, like me, like a quirky view of history, give Kurlansky a try.

And now for the lament… The Last Fish Tale was only the 34th book I’ve read this year. At this rate, I haven’t even read a book a week! This is insane and must be fixed. There are only 14 weeks left in the year, and I need to read 18 more books to get up to the one a week level (which would honestly still be low for me). So, more quick, easy reads are in my future, I think. Alright, enough lamenting, back to reading.

A Quick Post and a Lament

Leave a Reply

