2008 in Statistics

Total Books Read in 2008: 80

  • Number Read in Best Month:15 (December)
  • Number Read in Worst Month:0 (April – The fire really cut down on my reading for a while.)

Total Books Read in 2007: 122

Total Books Read in 2006: 70

Fiction/Non-fiction Split:

2008: 63%/37%

2007: 50%/50%

2006: 59%/41%

Percentage of Books by Women (Overall/Fiction/Non-fiction):

2008: 68%/70%/67%

2007: 60%/57%/68%

2006: 74%/88%/55%

Five Star Books of 2008:
The Latehomecomer: A Hmong Family Memoir by Kao Kalia Yang
The Willoughbys by Lois Lowry
Bumperboy & The Loud, Loud Mountain by Debbie Huey
The Oxford Project by Stephen Bloom and Peter Feldstein
Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
Among Other Things, I’ve Taken Up Smoking by Aoibheann Sweeney

2008 in Statistics

2 thoughts on “2008 in Statistics

  1. Jami says:

    I don’t understand why you’ve broken out the statistics by women authors but not by male authors (except by default!) or by any other demographic criteria. Can you explain?

    Like

  2. cransell says:

    I can! I know that I enjoy reading books by women, but I was curious how much the reality matched up with my general impression. Was I really reading more women authors or did it just feel that way?

    Turns out my impression was right. Sometimes it’s interesting to test a theory.

    Like

Leave a Reply

