Tomato Glut Sauce

Yesterday, I was faced with one of those “it’s a good problem to have” problems. We had Too Many Tomatoes (this was the actual title of a cookbook that my mom had when I was little). The tomato plants in our garden have really started producing, plus we had a bunch of tomatoes from the CSA.

This was mostly a problem because we will are heading on vacation and I didn’t want to come back to rotting tomatoes. Clearly the only answer is to make tomato sauce!

Earlier this year, I read a memoir, This Organic Life by Joan Dye Gussow. It’s an interesting book focused mainly on the development of their home garden over the years – and it includes recipes. One was for “Tomato Glut Sauce”, and the second I saw it I thought, I should copy this, it may come in handy one day. So when I realized that we had a surplus of tomatoes, I knew just what to do.

I chopped up the tomatoes we had on hand, and mixed them with carrots and onions (also from the CSA), herbs (parsley, basil, oregano, and lemon thyme from our garden, bay leaf from the store), and vinegar (the recipe called for 6 tablespoons of balsamic, but I only had 3 tablespoons worth, so I did half balsamic/half red wine vinegar).

uncooked tomato sauce

The veggies roasted together until they were all soft (that took about 1 hour 15 minutes for the carrots, next time I’ll cut them smaller).

roasted tomato sauce

Finally I blended them all together in the food processor. The sauce isn’t much to look at (the vinegar and the varied tomato colors make it more brown than red), but it smells and tastes delicious. I can’t wait to use it in lasagna once the weather cools down a little.

tomato sauce

Tomato Glut Sauce

Leave a Reply

