.7% Well Read

I’ve read 3 more books on the 1,001 Books to Read Before You Die list. Bringing me up to a whopping .7% Well Read in the challenge. They were:

The Awakening by Kate Chopin. Another DailyLit special and one I loved. The Awakening was recommended to me by a friend from high school many, many years ago and I can’t believe it had taken me this long to read it. It’s one of the few books that I could picture myself rereading some day.

The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins, also from DailyLit. My neighbor’s dad had recommended Wilkie Collins to me last summer and I was excited to find him on the list – and writing mysteries. Mysteries I think of as my “Well Read” cheat. Which brings up to…

Murder Must Advertise by Dorothy Sayers, which is one of two Sayers mysteries on the list. I’ve already read the other – The Nine Tailors. This was an amusing one, set in an advertising agency. It was a good mystery, although I was a bit lost in the chapter that took place during a cricket game. (Picture me going: “I have no idea what that means.”) In any event, I am happy to have discovered Sayers through this list, but I don’t understand why she has two mysteries on the list to Agatha Christie’s one. They are pretty similar and I have to say I slightly prefer the Christie mysteries I’ve read.

In any event, three more books down. 3 more to go. I’m certainly not going to complete the challenge in the one per month time frame, but it’s still amusing to keep slogging away at it – and I have discovered some books that I really love (Anna Karenina, The Awakening) that I probably would never have gotten around to reading otherwise.

.7% Well Read

One thought on “.7% Well Read

  1. Pam Holley says:

    Interesting to me the mysteries you read as it was your Grandpa Gus, and my dad, who introduced me to Dorothy Sayres–he’d be so pleased to know you’ve read her. And I have always wanted to read the Wilkie Collins title–it’s right up there with Moby Dick–but I’m not sure how much longer I can say “one day” I’ll read them. Pam

    Like

Leave a Reply

