Giving Thanks

November is a good month in our house. We got engaged in November last year. Our kitty, Walter, came home with us last November. And of course, November is the month of Thanksgiving, Jami’s favorite holiday. We head North for Thanksgiving every year, spending the time with Jami’s family and catching up with all of her New England friends (who have also become my New England friends). I am especially thankful that Jami likes Thanksgiving (a holiday I’ve never cared much about) and doesn’t care too much about Christmas (a holiday I really like), because we never have any “where will we go for the holidays?” arguments. Here are a few more things that I am thankful for this month:

Parents who are not only still married, but who also still like each other. I found out via Facebook yesterday that a girl I knew in college is getting divorced. She has three kids. I have always been grateful to have parents that served as sort of relationship role models, but I never really thought about what it would have been like to be a kid while your parents split up and having to deal with all that. I know that children of divorce can and often do, do fine, but I’m really glad that I never had to worry about that.

Two vacations in a month. We went to both California and New England this month and I took more time off work than I have any month since I started there. It was pretty great to get two wonderful breaks in a month – and after a spate of travel it also makes being home especially nice.

A week of “nice” New England weather. Nice being relative, of course. It was cold, but not as cold as it has been previous years and rainy a few days, but not all week. I didn’t spend the whole week shivering under blankets and for that I am grateful.

Getting a good chunk of my Christmas shopping done. I am not really a shopper, but with a week off and outlet shops galore, New England is good to me in the gifts department. I’ve still got plenty to do, but I’m feeling like it’s under control, which is a good feeling.

Text-messaging. I’m not great on the phone. I much prefer email to calling and text messaging in my new technological best friend. I am able to keep in touch with friends and family (especially on Thanksgiving) and get little updates without surmounting that “picking up the phone” barrier that seems so hard to me.

Living on multiple Metro lines. Red lines delays tonight? I just switched over and took Green home. Totally stress free commute. I dig it.

Giving Thanks

One thought on “Giving Thanks

Leave a Reply

