2009 in (Book) Statistics

I totally blew by my reading goal for 2009, but to be fair over half of these were books written for Children or Teens, many of which were graphic novels (which are generally a quicker read). It’s good to have met this goal at least since I failed in all, but one (paying off the student loan debt) of the others. Maybe I do better without goals.

The high numbers of children’s and teen books skewed my statistics somewhat (never, since I have been keeping track, have a read so little non-fiction, or so many male authors). Usually I vow every year to read more male authors in the year ahead, but I don’t think I’m going to worry about that this year! I do certainly hope that I read more non-fiction next year. I really do enjoy it, even if it takes me longer to get through.

Total Books Read in 2009: 200

  • Number Read in Best Month: 23 (June)
  • Number Read in Worst Month: 6 (January)

Total Books Read in 2008: 80

Total Books Read in 2007: 122

Total Books Read in 2006: 70

Fiction/Non-fiction Split:

2009: 84%/16%

2008: 63%/37%

2007: 50%/50%

2006: 59%/41%

Percentage of Books by Women (Overall/Fiction/Non-fiction):

2009: 44%/44%/ 42%

2008: 68%/70%/67%

2007: 60%/57%/68%

2006: 74%/88%/55%

Five Star Books of 2009:

A.D.: New Orleans After the Deluge by Josh Neufeld
A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering American on the Appalachian Trail by Bill Bryson
Admission by Jean Hanff Korelitz
American Dream: Three Women, Ten Kids, and Nation’s Drive to End Welfare by Jason DeParle
The Awakening by Kate Chopin
Bayou, Volume 1 by Jeremy Love
The Color of Earth by Dong Hwa Kim
The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery
Lunch Lady and the Cyborg Substitute by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart
The Professor’s House by Willa Cather
The Secret Science Alliance and the Copycat Crook by Eleanor Davis
Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston

2009 in (Book) Statistics

Leave a Reply

