TBR: The Lost Ravioli Recipes of Hoboken

One thing that is interesting to me about this To Be Read challenge is that I have a ton of books on my To Be Read list – all of which I read about somewhere and for the most part, I have no idea where any more. This is true of The Lost Ravioli Recipes of Hoboken by Laura Schenone as well – it’s been on my list for a couple of years and I have no idea where I first heard about it. It was good though – just what I needed to read during my snowiest week of the year – an interesting and engaging book, with loving descriptions of pasta. Mmm, pasta. Part food book, part family history, the Lost Ravioli Recipes of Hoboken traces Schenone’s search for an authentic family recipe to call her own. The book reminded me of two very different books that I have read in the past few years: the learning about Italian food (in Italy) part reminded me of Heat by Bill Buford (subtitled An Amateur’s Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-Maker, and Apprentice to a Dante-Quoting Butcher in Tuscany, which should give you some idea of what the book is about), while the family history part reminded me of The Lost: A Search for Six of Six Million by Daniel Mendelsohn (the subject matter is tougher in The Lost, where the author attempts to trace the lives and deaths of 6 of his relatives who died in the Holocaust, but the idea of (re)discovering your family was similar).

TBR: The Lost Ravioli Recipes of Hoboken

3 thoughts on “TBR: The Lost Ravioli Recipes of Hoboken

Leave a Reply

