February Round-up

Apparently February was non-fiction month, I finished 5 books this month – all non-fiction (all also by women, while I am discovering themes). They were:

Stealing Buddha’s Dinner by Bich Minh Nguyen

Trail of Crumbs: Hunger, Love and the Search for Home by Kim Sunee. This was a interesting memoir that touched on adoption, food, relationships, and expatriate life, among other topics. Kim Sunee was adopted from South Korea by an American couple and raised in New Orleans. This book focuses on her post-college life in France, however, and her search for a place where she “belongs”. It was a good read.

The Red Leather Diary: Reclaiming a Life Through the Pages of a Lost Journal by Lily Koppel. I found this book disappointing. I thought the premise was interesting – Koppel discovers the 1930s diary of a Manhattan teenager when her apartment building clears out it’s storage spaces and sets out to find out what happened to its author. It was interesting to get a glimpse of a particular place and time (and to be reminded that our grandparents were not so unlike us as children), but the writing just wasn’t that engaging. I never got caught up in the story, like I was expecting to. Just okay for me.

The Lost Ravioli Recipes of Hoboken: A Search for Food and Family by Laura Schenone.

The Good Marriage: How and Why Love Lasts by Judith S. Wallerstein. Continuing my reading about marriage in the period leading up to our wedding… I thought this was a great book – Wallerstein studied 50 happy marriages (so described by both members of the couple) and wrote about what she learned. While there are of course limits to her research – her subjects were all white, middle class, heterosexual couples in California – it is still interesting to see what things make a marriage happy .

February Round-up

3 thoughts on “February Round-up

  1. I’d have to totally agree with you on the Red Leather Diary – was not a favorite at all. Little bits of it intrigued me, but I think the author really had to fill things out a bit much.

    Like

  2. Trail of Crumbs sounds like an interesting read, and it’s one I’ve never heard of before. Thanks for the tip!

    (By the way, why am I only *just* discovering that you have a blog?)

    Like

Leave a Reply

