Three Food Choices

One of my favorite food blog, Cheap Health Good, asked the following hypothetical question this week:

Q: You can only eat three dishes for the rest of your life. They’re dishes, not single foods; this means you can choose bananas, but you can also opt for Spaghetti Bolognese. You must consider proper nutrition. Side dishes are not allowed. Which three do you choose?

What a challenge! Well, mostly because you have to consider nutrition – there are plenty of things that I could eat forever that have very little nutritional value.

I think I would choose:

Tuna Melts! Okay, not the most nutritious – but I do include lots of veggies in my tuna melts. And we eat them every single week now, so I don’t think I could go without them for the rest of my life.

Farfalle with Tomato and Zucchini – My go-to recipe for last summer, adapted from this recipe in Food + Wine. (I cook use “grown-up” zucchini, so I cook them a little first and Farfalle is the preferred pasta in our house, but otherwise I follow the recipe). This is great for using up summer garden bounty and so yummy that we never managed to take a picture of it last summer – we always went straight to the eating. And I can’t imagine life without pasta.

Corn Chowder – I use the recipe in the Joy of Cooking and it is just perfect – fresh and tasty with a little bit of bacon. Mmm, bacon.

What would you eat?

Three Food Choices

2 thoughts on “Three Food Choices

  1. Wow this is difficult!
    Also because that picture of Tuna Melts gets too much of my attention. They look good and I’m trying to imagine how to make them myself. I get they are a common enough food where you live, but here (that is Italy) I’ve never heard of them.
    How do you cook them?
    Going back to the question, I suppose I would choose pasta bolognese (for the meat), pasta with vegetables, and some big salad to have raw vegatables mixed with proteins. Although this would leave out fruits…which is a pity.

    By the way, nice to meet you…

    Costanza

    Like

    1. cransell says:

      Nice to meet you too! Here’s my recipe for tuna melts:

      Mix together:
      1 Carrot, Diced
      4 Scallions, Thinly Sliced
      1 Stalk Celery, Diced
      2 cans of tuna
      Mayonnaise (I don’t ever measure, just do a big spoonful, and if I need to, add a little more).

      Toast two split english muffins, bagels or rolls.

      Top english muffins with the tuna salad, and with cheese (I like Swiss, Jami likes Cheddar).

      Broil for a few minutes until the cheese is melted. Voila, tuna melts!

      (Sometimes in summer, I’ll also add cucumber to the tuna salad, or put a few slices of tomato under the cheese. Good stuff).

      Like

Leave a Reply

