May Round-Up

I read 13 books in May, my best month so far in 2010! 10 of the books were fiction, 3 were non-fiction.

The World According to Bertie by Alexander McCall Smith. Another book in the 44 Scotland Street series. Bertie is probably my favorite of all the characters the series covers, so I was happy to have a Bertie-heavy book.

Eat, Memory: Great Writers at the Table edited by Amanda Hesser. I read these first three book on our honeymoon, and I remember enjoying this book, and speeding through it, but one month later, I don’t remember a single of the essays it contained. I think that puts it in the “just okay” category.

Requiem for a Mezzo by Carola Dunn. This was the third book in the Daisy Dalrymple series, and it’s my least favorite so far – still is was a good beach read.

The Great Good Place by Ray Oldenburg.

Death of a Valentine by M.C. Beaton. This is the latest book in a series I have been reading for a while – the Hamish MacBeth series, set in the Highlands of Scotland. Clearly May was heavy on the mysteries and the “fluff” reading!

Free for All: Fixing School Food in America by Janet Poppendieck. This was a fascinating book about the history of and problems with the National School Lunch Program, and the ways in which school food can be improved. Poppendieck also wrote a book about food entitlement programs called Sweet Charity, that I read years ago and that is also quite good.

Murder on the Flying Scotsman by Carola Dunn. This was my favorite of the Daisy Dalrymple books thus far. A man is murdered on a train in motion and Daisy finds herself on the case. Probably a total rip-off of Agatha Christie, but quite entertaining nonetheless.

The Trial by Franz Kafka. We read this book for our book club, and I was not a fan. It was an unfinished book published after Kafka’s desk and it just seemed meandering, without much substance. It still led to a good book club discussion though!

Blackout by Connie Willis. I’m not a huge science fiction fan, but for some reason, I like the time travel books. Maybe because they include some of my beloved history. In this book, the characters are traveling between 2060 and the World War II era. I loved this book and was upset at first to discover at the end of the book that I wasn’t going to get resolution, it was “to be continued”. Now I’m excited to get to read the second book in the Fall!

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling. This was a reread. Jami and I are working our way through the Harry Potter books and we finally finished book 4.

Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok.

Damsel in Distress by Carola Dunn. This is the fifth book in the Daisy Dalrymple series. I got interested in the series because DCPL had the latest one on the new mysteries shelf. I ended up having to buy the first 3 books in the series though, because DCPL didn’t have them. And now, having read books 5 & 6, they don’t have 7 either (but they do have 8). Public libraries? This is a total pet peeve. If you are going to buy a series at all, be sure to get all the books in it (and then don’t weed out all the old copies. Folks generally like to start series at the beginning). /rant.

The Unbearable Lightness of Scones by Alexander McCall Smith. With this book, I have reached the end of the 44 Scotland Street series (at least until McCall Smith writes more). It wasn’t anything amazing, but still a good, light read, perfect for Memorial Day at Virginia Beach.

May Round-Up

2 thoughts on “May Round-Up

  1. I just read something that I think you will like– the first Amelia Peabody! A Victorian spinster solving mysteries on the Nile! If you haven’t already read these, I’ll lend you the first one. If you have, then we can chat about how funny they are.

    Like

Leave a Reply

