An Abundance of Cucumbers

Into every gardener’s life, a little veggie excess must fall. This year we are positively swimming in cucumbers. (This isn’t a bad problem to have honestly. I love cucumbers.) If you are swimming in cucumbers too, may I suggest a few recipes that will use them up quickly and tastily?

Lemon Cucumber Tofu Salad from the 101 Cookbooks. Heidi Swanson has never steered me wrong. She uses Lemon Cucumbers, but I don’t grow those, so I used 1 1/2 of the big, long cucumbers from my garden. This salad was awesome – definitely a meal in and of itself.

Greek Antipasto Pitas from Cheap Healthy Good. I didn’t have a red pepper, so I just did another 1/2 cucumber instead. Quite yummy and equally good (if not better) the next day. Bonus points for requiring no heat at all, which is critical this summer.

Horseradish Cucumber Sauce from Epicurious. This uses up one not-too-huge cucumber, and is super tasty on salmon cakes, beet rosti, zucchini corn fritters, or pretty much any fried cake-like food.

And of course, I have been using cucumbers in sandwiches – tuna salad, egg salad, and hummus. I still have plenty more in the fridge. Have any cucumber recipe suggestions? What is your garden swimming in?

An Abundance of Cucumbers

Leave a Reply

