November Round-up

I read a fair amount in November, but I didn’t finish many books. Maybe I’ll have a high number in December. My total was 7 books, 6 Fiction and 1 Non-fiction. They were:

Busy Body by M.C. Beaton. This is the newest addition to the Agatha Raisin series, which are cozy mysteries set in the English Cotswolds. Nothing brilliant, but amusing.

Two Cents Plain: My Brooklyn Boyhood by Martin Lemelman.

Gourmet Rhapsody by Muriel Barbery. Muriel Barbery is the author of Elegance of the Hedgehog, which I LOVED, but this book, even though it focuses on the same building in Paris, was just okay to me.

Mr. Mendoza’s Paintbrush by Luis Alberto Urrea. This is a graphic novel adaptation of a short story by Urrea. It would be an interesting addition to a class on magical realism.

Hereville: How Mirka Go Her Sword by Barry Deutsch. Mirka is an 11-year-old Orthodox Jewish girl, who wants to be a monster-fighter. This is a really good graphic novel about a strong, independent young woman.

The Cloud Searchers by Kazu Kibuishi. This is the third graphic novel in the Amulet series, which reminds me of the Bone series by Jeff Smith. Children’s books and graphic novels both seem especially suited to the Fantasy genre, which this book is. It’s definitely a series I would recommend to kids.

Artichoke Tales by Megan Kelso. I thought I would like this book a lot more than I did. It tells the story of a family in a country divided by Civil War. The people all have artichoke like hair, which is kind of cute, but between that and wearing very similar outfits, I found it hard to keep the different characters straight.

November Round-up

Leave a Reply

