2010 in (Book) Statistics

My reading resolution for 2010 was to read more non-fiction, and I think I succeeded. I still read more fiction than non-fiction, but percentage-wise I read twice as much non-fiction this year as last, so that seems like a success. I was supposed to complete the TBR Challenge in 2010, but the year is over and I’ve only read 8 of the 12 books on my list. Oh well. I’m sure I’ll get to the other four someday.

My reading goal for 2011 is to read one book of poetry a month. I never read poetry, but I’m trying to expand my reading horizons. If you have suggestions of poets or anthologies to read, I would be happy to hear them!

Total Books Read in 2010: 130

  • Number Read in Best Month: 18 (August)
  • Number Read in Worst Month: 5 (February)

Total Books Read in 2009: 200

Total Books Read in 2008: 80

Total Books Read in 2007: 122

Total Books Read in 2006: 70

Fiction/Non-fiction Split:

2010: 68%/32%

2009: 84%/16%

2008: 63%/37%

2007: 50%/50%

2006: 59%/41%

Percentage of Books by Women (Overall/Fiction/Non-fiction):

2010: 55%/54%/59%

2009: 44%/44%/ 42%

2008: 68%/70%/67%

2007: 60%/57%/68%

2006: 74%/88%/55%

Five Star Books of 2010:

Little Princes: One Man’s Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal by Conor Grennan

The Hemingses of Monticello: An American Family by Annette Gordon-Reed

Binky to the Rescue by Ashley Spires

Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson

Little Bee by Chris Cleave

Talking Hands: What Sign Language Reveals About the Mind by Margalit Fox

44 Scotland Street by Alexander McCall Smith

Mountains Beyond Mountains: The Quest of Dr. Paul Farmer, a Man Who Would Cure the World by Tracy Kidder

The Stone Gods by Jeanette Winterson

2010 in (Book) Statistics

6 thoughts on “2010 in (Book) Statistics

  1. Heather Macdonald says:

    I buy A Family of Poems by Caroline Kennedy for every person I know who has a baby. The poems are classic, and the beautiful pictures help even the wee ones understand the text. I feel like this book of poetry should be in every home!

    btw, I love reading your round-ups. Happy New Year!

    Like

  2. Jo says:

    Oh, LOVE the recommendations! Thank you!

    This is sort of childish, but my favorite poet of all time, the one I sit down and cuddle up with, the one I read a poem and then mull it over because those simple words mean much more–is ee cummings.

    Like

  3. cransell says:

    Thanks for all the poetry suggestions. They have been added to the list (which prior to your suggestions consisted solely of Walt Whitman’s Leaves of Grass).

    Like

  4. Kristi says:

    I love being able to come to your blog for book recommendations! I just picked up ‘Little Bee’. 🙂

    As for poetry, I just listened to Elizabeth Alexander on NPR. She wrote and read a poem for Obama’s Inauguration. Fascinating woman! I think her poetry would be worth checking out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

