Early Reviewer: My Korean Deli

Last week, through the goodness that is LibraryThing’s Early Reviewer program I got a copy of My Korean Deli: Risking in All for Convenience Store by Ben Ryder Howe in the mail. As soon as I picked it up, I didn’t want to put it down. The book is a memoir centering on the author’s purchase of a Brooklyn neighborhood market with his wife’s family (immigrants from Korea, which is where the subtitle comes from). As a city dweller, I love a neighborhood market and have often wondered about the family commitment necessary to keep one running, and this book confirms that it’s intense and stressful – but does so in an entertaining and thoughtful way. (The book also made me miss NY markets that really are deli – with a meat counter and some “real food”. I wish DC markets would do that as well). If you enjoy memoirs (or just love a deli, bodega, or local market), this book is for you.

Early Reviewer: My Korean Deli

Leave a Reply

