June Round-up

June was a low reading month for me. I finished 6 books, all fiction.

Squish #2: Brave New Pond by Jennifer and Matthew Holm. Graphic novel for the elementary school set – covering the age-old themes of friendship and fitting in.

Three Men in a Boat (To Say Nothing of the Dog) by Jerome K. Jerome. This is the book that is referenced in the title of Connie Willis’ To Say Nothing of the Dog. When I saw it written up on one of the book blogs I follow (Quirky Girls Read), and Jerome was compared to Bill Bryson, I thought I would have to give it a try. It was amusing, but I don’t think I would have liked it as much without the Willis context – still humorous travel memoirs are definitely a genre I enjoy.

The Secret of the White Rose by Stefanie Pintoff. Pintoff’s third mystery featuring Detective Ziele – just as good as the first two – a series I look forward to reading for some time to come.

What Mrs. McGillicuddy Saw by Agatha Christie. Agatha Christie is always a good choice – smart, not too violent, not too long. The perfect author to pick up when you are in a bit of a reading slump and this book did not disappoint.

The Girl in the Green Raincoat by Laura Lippman. Finally a new mystery featuring one of my favorite characters – Tess Monaghan. I love Lippman, both her writing and her setting – Baltimore, which I don’t know well enough to quibble with, but I familiar enough with to feel like I get where things are happening. This was a short book – almost more of a novella than a full-fledged novel, but it a satisfying read. I hope Tess makes another appearance soon.

Dinosaurs: Claws and All by Philip Ardagh. A fact-filled graphic novel about one of those favorite elementary school subjects – DINOSAURS! Cute.

June Round-up

2 thoughts on “June Round-up

Leave a Reply

