July Round-up

I read 6 books in July, one non-fiction, the rest fiction.

Sizzling Sixteen by Janet Evanovich. I picked this up in the airport on our way to Maine at the beginning of the month and I’m so glad I did. It keep me entertained through airport waiting/flying/two hour bus trip from Boston to Portland. I enjoy the whole Stephanie Plum mystery series – my kind of trashy, fun read.

The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown. This was my second airport reading book, and I kind of hated it. Dan Brown gets a lot of crap for not being an amazing writer, but I have to say that I really liked the Da Vinci Code. It wasn’t award-winning literature, but it was a good, engaging thriller, perfect beach (or airport) reading. The Lost Symbol strained my ability to suspend disbelief and get into the story.

Waiting for an Ordinary Day: The Unraveling of Life in Iraq by Farnaz Fassihi. This is one my favorite books of 2011 so far. A memoir by journalist Fassihi (the Iraq correspondent for the Wall Street Journal) about her time reporting in Iraq – from right before the invasion until 2006. It is not a hopeful book, but it really made it clear to me to folly of the US invasion (and the general problem with occupying a foreign country) and the impact that had on real people in Iraq. Fassihi is so sympathetic and human and troubled by what she sees that it made it easier for me to read than I think a straight non-fiction history book about the invasion would have been. I highly recommend it.

Darwen Arkwright and the Peregrine Pact by A.J. Hartley. This was a book I got through the Early Reviewers program. It took me a few chapters to get into it, but once I did, I really liked it. Darwen Arkwright is, in good children’s book fashion, an orphan. Raised in Northern England, he goes to live with his aunt when his parents die in a car accident. Things are a little weird in Atlanta between the magical mirror shop Darwen discovers at the mall and the odd goings on at the private school his aunt sends him to, but with the help of his new friend, Darwen starts to unravel the mystery.

The Body in the Library by Agatha Christie. Another Miss Marple mystery, also quite good. I should make some sort of concerted effort to read them all. My Grandpa was a big Agatha Christie fan, so reading her books always reminds me of him, which is a happy thing.

Hissy Fit by Mary Kay Andrews. This was my book club selection for July and I was sort of snobby about it at first. It’s the first book I’ve read that sort of fit into the Chick Lit genre, and I was expecting to hate it – but really, I didn’t. I don’t think I’ll rush out and get Andrews other books, but it was an entertaining read, perfect for summer.

July Round-up

One thought on “July Round-up

  1. Finally your monthly reading list doesn’t put my entire life reading list to shame 😉 I couldn’t finish The Lost Symbol either. I am very interested in the Iraq book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

