23 Weeks

23 Weeks

It’s been a month since I did my last update, so there is lots of little stuff to report.

Appointments I’ve Had:In the past month, we’ve had an ultrasound (at 20 weeks) and a midwife appointment (at 22 weeks). It was fun to watch our “baby movie” (as Jami calls it) and see the little one moving around. We didn’t find out the sex, so it will be another 17 weeks or so before we find out if we have a son or daughter. This was our fourth midwife appointment, and we have now met all the midwives in the practice. The practice we go to delivers at GW Hospital and we will get whichever midwife is on duty when I go into labor, so I’m glad we’ve made it through once (although of course, we have plenty more appointments to go). Even better, I’ve liked all the midwives, so I’ll be happy with whoever is on duty!

How We’re Preparing: This month was spent starting the transition of guest room into baby’s room. We moved out all the furniture and non-baby items, and this week, the contractor came and skimmed the walls (the previous owner had used textured paint and the walls were very rough) and painted. Now the room is looking great and ready for us to start filling up with furniture and other baby stuff. I bought the fabric for the baby’s quilt and cut out the pieces, but haven’t gotten around to sewing it together yet. Still have some time though, thank goodness!

What I’m Wearing: At this point, I’m in maternity clothes almost exclusively (there are few pre-pregnancy skirts, dresses, and tops that still fit). I’m very lucky because my friend and neighbor lent me all of her maternity clothes, so that forms the bulk of my wardrobe. I have bought a few things though – some pants and a little black maternity dress. It’s nice to have clothes that fit and you feel good in.

How I’m Feeling: Awesome. Seriously, I love the second trimester. I have my normal energy back, and while I’m definitely expanding, I’m not uncomfortable yet. I’ll trying to really enjoy this time, since I know the third trimester will be a little harder.

What I’m Eating: Our midwives have a pretty strict (but normal) diet they want you to follow – lots of vegetables (especially greens), beans, eggs, whole grains, etc, and I’m trying to follow that as best I can, but my sweet tooth (which totally disappeared in the first trimester) is definitely back and my love of white carbs (especially pasta and pizza) hasn’t gone anywhere. I’m not denying myself, but I am trying to make sure I’m balancing things out and not only eating treats.

Where I’ve Been: Last weekend, we had our “babymoon” at the Homestead (which is resort in Western Virginia). It was nice to get away and spend a little quality time together, and there was lots to do. In the 3 days we were there we swam in the pool heated by the local mineral springs, got spa treatments (pedicure for me, massage for Jami), went canoeing on the Jackson river, did the history tour of the resort (because we are big dorks like that), and ate a lot of good food. I think my favorite thing was the afternoon tea that they served in the lobby every afternoon. I could definitely get used to that.

What I’m Reading: In addition to the books I was reading before, I started Your Baby and Child by Penelope Leach this month. Our doula recommended a number of books, and she said that one thing that most parents wished they’d done more reading about was babies/early childhood, so I’m trying to make sure I’m prepared not just for the pregnancy, but for what comes after. So far I find the book really helpful. Now I just need to start reading about childbirth (now that I have fewer weeks left to be pregnant than I have been pregnant, it seems like I should start thinking about how this baby is going to get out of here) and breastfeeding.

23 Weeks

5 thoughts on “23 Weeks

  1. thanks for the update! looking very cute with your baby bump! 🙂 so glad to hear 2nd trimester is treating you well.

    you went to the homestead! I’ve been wanting to go there, with all the Living Social/Groupon deals for that place.. sounds like you recommend it? we’re starting to look into 2nd anniversary destinations…

    Like

    1. That’s what we did (The Living Social deal!). I do recommend it. I’m hoping we’ll go back at some point (I really wanted to do the hot springs, but you can’t when you are pregnant), but I will wait for another deal, because it is expensive. Also, while there are other “younger” folks around, the average guest age was definitely older than us. That didn’t bother us, but does seem worth mentioning. It was about 4 hours drive from DC (but a pleasant drive), so it was definitely good to stay two nights.

      Like

  2. Thank you for the update. I am glad to hear that you like your practice. We like ours too. There are 8 midwives who deliver and I have met most of them, but it still may be a surprise on the day of. I found that I did not like rotating through and wanted to stick with my main one so that visits would have consistency and she reassured me that there is plenty of time to bind with whoever is on call that day. So there we are.

    Like

  3. Maurine says:

    You look beautiful Carrie! Sounds like a fun babymoon. I wish I had read more baby/early childhood books before Eli was born and more about nursing since I ended up having problems getting going with it. I’m glad to hear that you’re still feeling great. 🙂

    Like

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Definatly read up on breastfeeding, I didn’t and I actually ended up giving up. The minute you push the kid out (in my case get rolled back into triage) they try and get you to breastfeed. Forcefully I may add. I was so sick due to the epidural that I couldn’t breastfeed at all. Off and on vomiting the whole first day, so I asked them to just give him the bottle. After that they just assumed I was no longer interested, and so much else was going on it didn’t even dawn on me that I wasn’t breastfeeding. Then when I did try he wouldn’t latch on. Its not as easy as one would think. So he’s been a bottle baby since and is doing great. 🙂 1 month 3 days and 9 1/2 lbs.

    I’m glad to hear you like everyone in that practice, that makes it nice, no worries.

    You’re lucky though, with the sweet tooth- I’m just now getting mine back. When I was pregnant I couldn’t way anything chocolate. I changed my eating habits a lot. Craving things I usually hated. But its slowly coming back. 🙂

    Overall how are you feeling? I bet you guys are getting so anxious and excited!

    Arent the “baby movies” the best!? I loved watching him on ultrasound every month.

    Hope all is well, keep us posted.

    Like

Leave a Reply

