September Round-up

I read 7 books in September, 6 fiction and 1 non-fiction.

A Murder is Announced by Agatha Christie. This is another Miss Marple mystery. I am slowly and haphazardly trying to make my way through them all. They never disappoint. I kind of want to be Miss Marple when I get old.

A Fatal Grace by Louise Penny. This is the second book in the Chief Inspector Gamache series set in small town Quebec. It is an especially appropriate follow-up for Agatha Christie, because most of the books in the series (including this one) have won an Agatha Award. Agatha Award are given to “traditional mysteries” that exemplify the spirit of Agatha Christie (good mysteries with no explicit sex or excessive violence). Their awards list is always a good place to check when looking for a new mystery author to read!

The Amulet of Samarkand: The Graphic Novel by Jonathan Stroud. Graphic Novel adaption of a children’s book involving magicians and genies. It reminded me a little of Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, but for a much younger audience.

Lightning Thief: The Graphic Novel by Rick Riordan. The Graphic Novel adaptation of the kid’s book, now a major motion picture. Well done, I thought.

How to Understand Israel in 60 Days or Less by Sarah Glidden. A graphic memoir about the author’s Birthright trip to Israel, and the questions it raised for her.

Zig and Wikki in Something Ate My Homework by Nadja Spiegelman. This is a Toon book, so it’s a graphic novel for early readers. Nothing brilliant, but would probably amuse a 6 year old.

The Ballad of Tom Dooley by Sharyn McCrumb. Sharyn McCrumb is one of my favorite writers – especially her Ballad series – set in the mountains of Western Virginia and North Carolina. She gets that sense of place down so beautifully. This is her latest, but I recommend any of the books in the series (The Hangman’s Beautiful Daughter is probably my favorite).

September Round-up

3 thoughts on “September Round-up

  1. Oh I am from North Carolina, so I am intrigued by Sharyn McCrumb. Also I love Graphic Novels. I really need to check out more of them. What are your top 5 favorite Graphic Novels if you don’t mind my asking? I love Mouse & The Watchman, but those are really the only one’s I’ve read

    Like

    1. cransell says:

      Ooh, Top 5 Graphic Novel… This is my favorite kind of question! I’m going to say:

      Persepolis by Marjane Sartrapi (The graphic memoir, worth the hype, I’d say).
      I Kill Giants by Joe Kelly (I cried, but really good.)
      Castle Waiting by Linda Medley (This is sort of a feminist fractured fairy tale).
      Stitches by David Small (fair warning – this is depressing, but Small is one of my favorite illustrators and it is good.)
      Binky the Space Cat (This is a kid’s book, but I seriously love Binky – there are multiple Binky books, this is the first one)

      P.S. You must be using Reader (or the like)! You found this post before I tweeted at you. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

