A Love Letter to the Second Trimester

Oh, second trimester, you have been so good to me. You took the stressed out, exhausted, nauseous woman I was, and turned me into a happy pregnant lady. Once you arrived I stopped worrying so much about miscarrying, and started feeling more confident in myself and our growing baby.

You are the trimester where I became visibly pregnant. It’s so weird to spend about half your pregnancy with no one knowing you are pregnant unless you tell them – but now… People ask when the baby is due, tell me Congratulations, offer me a seat on metro. It’s pretty great.

You are the trimester when I first felt the baby move – tentatively at first. Unsure of what I was really feeling, but then stronger and stronger until there is no mistaking what is going on. Until our baby’s little feet make my belly bounce. I hear that by the end these kicks may be painful, but right now I can’t get enough. Dance away, little baby.

You gave me more energy, I could tackle projects, cook dinner, stay up past 9. You took away my nausea. Food tastes good again and I want to eat it. It’s not that you were completely symptom free, there were those leg cramps in the first half of the trimester and that heartburn that has showed up in the second half, but even those were mild, nothing to write home about. You made me feel normal again, which is the best gift of all.

So thanks, second trimester, I will always treasure this time we had. You are just what I needed.

Love, me.

A Love Letter to the Second Trimester

2 thoughts on “A Love Letter to the Second Trimester

  1. Lisa says:

    The second trimester is always the nicest. You’ve passed the nausea of the first and haven’t hit the discomfort of the third. Very glad to know you enjoyed it to it’s full potential. Here’s to wishing you the best with your third. See you next month at your (& Jami’s) shower.

    Like

Leave a Reply

