The Much Delayed November Round-Up

I read 10 books in November, 4 non-fiction, 6 fiction. I read 3 of these book on my new Kindle Fire.

As the Pig Turns by M.C. Beaton. The latest Agatha Raisin mystery – nothing brilliant, but always good when I want a mindless, 24-hour read.

The read-aloud handbook by Jim Trelease. My boss gave me this book when she found out I was pregnant, and I really loved it. The first half of the book talks about the benefits of reading aloud to children and the second half has recommendations of good read-aloud books for every age and topic. I love to read (obviously) and can’t wait for us to read to our little one!

The Mirror Crack’d from Side to Side by Agatha Christie. Another Miss Marple – slowly working my way through these, enjoying every one.

Smokin’ Seventeen by Janet Evanovich. I got a new Kindle Fire in November (thanks, Jami!), and one of the first things I did was figure out how to check out books from the library. This Stephanie Plum mystery was the first one I checked out and it was a fun read. While I will always love a print book, I have to say I’m loving the Kindle, especially for library books, which I  was never going to keep a print copy of anyway!

Onions in the Stew by Betty MacDonald. I loved the Mrs. Piggle Wiggle books as a child (if you haven’t read them, I highly recommend them), and Betty MacDonald wrote them. When I heard that she had a memoir, I couldn’t wait to read it. Written in the 1950s, Onions in the Stew is mostly a humorous account of the MacDonalds move to an island off the coast of Seattle, and doesn’t focus much on MacDonalds writing. There are a few racial comments that were a little uncomfortable to me as a modern reader (referring to a particular gentleman as colored, the matter of fact way MacDonald describes getting an apartment because the Japanese couple living there were sent to an internment camp), but it was still an interesting, enjoyable read.

Lady Fortescue Steps Out by Marion Chesney. With the purchase of a new Kindle Fire, came a free month trial to Amazon Prime. In addition to free, fast shipping, a Prime membership gives you access to the Kindle Lending Library – a collection of titles that you can borrow for free (you can only borrow one a month, so it’s really not going to replace an actual library, but still pretty cool). This was my Lending Library selection. Chesney is a pen name for M.C. Beaton, the author of the Agatha Raison series, and this is the amusing first addition to a non-mystery series that she wrote in the 1990s about the poor relatives of British aristocrats who open a hotel in the early 1800s.

Explosive Eighteen by Janet Evanovich. The next Stephanie Plum novel – also a Kindle library book. Amusing as always.

Daytripper by Gabriel Ba. This was beautiful Brazilian graphic novel, which highlights important days in the life of the protagonist, Bras de Olivias Dominguez, and imagines if he had died on each of those days. (That sounds dark, but it’s really and interesting concept and very well done, not morbid or depressing). If you like graphic novels, I really recommend this one.

Wine to Water: A Bartender’s Quest to Bring Clean Water to the World by Doc Hendley. I got this book through Early Reviewers and I enjoyed reading about Doc Hendley’s creation of the charity Wine to Water. I really came to appreciate the dire need for something so simple as clean water in much of the world. It made me really thankful for what I have. Hendley’s writing wasn’t quite my style, but it was still a good read and introduction to the work of Wine to Water.

Around the World by Matt Phelan. In this graphic novel, Phelan recounts the tales of three explorers who went around the world – Joshua Slocum, Thomas Stevens, and Nellie Bly. Phelan is an excellent illustrator, but I think that this book wasn’t quite the tour de force that his first graphic novel, The Storm in the Barn was.

The Much Delayed November Round-Up

Leave a Reply

