February Round-up

I read 6 books in February, 5 fiction, 1 non-fiction. 5 on the Kindle, one in hard copy.

The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht. Gorgeously written book, set in the former Yugoslavia. The protagonist is a young doctor, whose grandfather just died. In between her present-day trip to vaccinate some orphans and locate her grandfather’s personal effects, Natalia weaves in two stories that her grandfather told her – the Deathless Man and the Tiger’s Wife. The books was on lots of year-end Best Books lists, and I think that was deserved. Definitely recommend.

Miss Tonks Turns to Crime by Marion Chesney. This is the second book in the Poor Relations series. Pure Edwardian fluff. Perfect for when a baby has fried your brain.

Salt: A World History by Mark Kurlansky. Continuing with my Kurlansky kick, I enjoyed this book more than Cod. The history of salt is oddly fascinating.

They Do It With Mirrors by Agatha Christie. Another Miss Marple, just as enjoyable as all the others.

The Cat’s Table by Michael Ondaatje. This is the first book that I’ve read by Ondaatje, author of The English Patient, and I was wowed. The Cat’s Table refers to the table that the protagonist, 11-year-old Michael, dines at during his three week ocean voyage from Sri Lanka to England. As you can imagine, an 11-year-old boy can have some grand adventures on a cruise ship unaccompanied, especially after befriending the two other boys on the voyage. A thoroughly enjoyable read.

Two for Sorrow by Nicola Upson. I got this book through LibraryThing’s Early Reviewers program and it took me about 9 months to complete it, which should say something about my enjoyment. In the end I found the mystery well constructed (and well researched – it is based on actual historical events), but I was put off by the baby killing (I knew that was the subject when I requested the book, but got pregnant between request and book’s arrival and suddenly found the subject too upsetting to want to read about). I wasn’t very in to the personal relationship drama of the book, but all mysteries seem to have them. Just okay to me.

February Round-up

Leave a Reply

