July Round-up

I read 3 books in July, 2 non-fiction and 1 fiction. Only 1 was on Kindle.

Gone West by Carola Dunn. This is the latest in the Daisy Dalrymple series, which is a solidly enjoyable, somewhat fluffy series set in England after the First World War. A good addition and fun, quick read.

Perfect Madness: Motherhood in the Age of Anxiety by Judith Warner. Warner’s book was published back in 2005, but it seemed very timely reading given Anne Marie Slaughter’s article on “Having it All” in the Atlantic last month. This could be a pretty depressing read, but I actually found it encouraging. It sort of made me realize that pursuing “perfect motherhood” would make me as crazy and unhappy as it made the women in her book without really benefitting my child. That’s a pretty freeing thought. I should focus on being the best mother I can be without comparing myself to others or trying to match some impossible standard. We will all be happier for it.

How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran. I first heard about this last year, when a website I read did a book club on the book. At the time it had only been published in the U.K., but it was published in the U.S. this month and I bought it on my Kindle. It was really, really good. It is both a memoir and book on the importance of feminism. Funny and smart and a really enjoyable read. (If you like it, you should definitely follow @caitlinmoran on twitter, because she’s smart and funny in 140 character format too!)

July Round-up

One thought on “July Round-up

  1. Carrie — good job on recognizing the craziness of striving for perfect parenting and recognizing the value of, instead, being the best you can be to your child.

    Would that I could do it again I would strive to stretch my supply of patience out to infinity but, alas, we only get one go-round. Is there a book about that?

    Like

Leave a Reply

