Less Crap, More Organization.

As my wife (and before that, my mother) would tell you, I’m a pretty messy person. But because life is full of contradictions, I am also a big declutterer and anti-pack rat. Less STUFF, I cry. And I really like being organized. I’m a list maker by nature (and nurture, thanks Mom!) and I love it when there is a good system to things.

SO! When some other awesome ladies on the internet decided to do a “get stuff crossed off your perpetually To Do list” project, I was all for it!

These are the things that I’m going to try to get done in the next few months. By the end of July, I will:

Move the still-too-big toddler clothes from the basement to a storage box under our bed.
Remove the too small/too warm clothes from Frances closet.
Go through the “done with this” baby stuff in the basement and either donate to A Wider Circle or pass on to friends.
Clean refrigerator
Clean freezer
Clean off the bookcases in our living room.
Clean out bathroom vanity and medicine cabinet. Discard expired medications.
Get photos into the frames we got for Christmas.
Get those framed photos up on the wall.
Get last year’s Christmas Card framed.
Scan in my childhood print photos.
Get an album for those childhood photos that I also want to keep in print.
Add all my print recipes to Evernote.
Make Frances the Sesame Street book I got a Living Social deal for.

Lots to do, wish me luck!

Less Crap, More Organization.

5 thoughts on “Less Crap, More Organization.

  1. anselljg says:

    That’s an impressive list! You realize tomorrow is June 1st and the end of July is only 61 days beyond that? Hmmm. Let me know how you succeed. Maybe I’ll make a winter “to do” list.

    Like

    1. cransell says:

      Yes! I think I can do it though. The only thing I’m not sure about is scanning all the pictures. We’ll see how it goes. 🙂

      Like

  2. KA says:

    Awesome list—ambitious, but possible! I’m intrigued by recipes + evernote. I added a bunch ages ago and it was like they disappeared into a black hole. I feel like there’s so much potential to Evernote but I don’t know how to use it.

    Like

    1. cransell says:

      I wasn’t sure how Evernote was going to work out, but so far, I’m loving it. I previously had all my recipes in a binder, which worked well, but drove Jami crazy (It was unwieldy, and Frances liked to pull it off the shelf). A post on The Kitchn suggested Evernote, so I thought I would give it a try. I think the key for me is that I have a Kindle, and can use the Evernote app on that when I’m cooking (so I don’t have to have a laptop in the kitchen). And I’ve created two notebooks – one for recipes I’ve made and one for recipes I want to try, which I’m hoping means I won’t forget about those untried recipes as easily.

      Like

Leave a Reply

