What I Read: July 2013

I read 6 books in July. 3 fiction and 3 non-fiction. 2 on the Kindle and 4 in print.

V is for Vengeance by Sue Grafton. The latest in Grafton’s long running Kinsey Millhone series. I’ve been reading this series since I was in HIGH SCHOOL and the end of the alphabet is coming. I’m interested to see how she handles that.

On the Noodle Road: From Beijing to Rome, with Love and Pasta by Jen Lin-Liu. This was a solid, but not brilliant travel/food memoir that I got as part of LibraryThing’s Early Reviewer program. I had read Lin-Liu’s earlier book and enjoyed it, and I love pasta of all varieties, so this seemed like the book for me. It was a bit of a slow read, and there weren’t any parts that I LOVED. That said it was interesting to hear about Lin-Liu’s experiences, especially in the “in between” places (Central Asia, Iran, Turkey) that I don’t usually read as much about. And some of the food sounded AMAZING. Worth a read if you like this genre.

Lean In: Women, Work and the Will to Lead by Sheryl Sandberg. This book has gotten a lot of press, not all of it positive, but I really liked it. I thought that Sandberg did a good job at discussing the ways in which women can advocate for themselves and advance in their careers, while not in any way dismissing the institutional problems that women face. Well worth reading.

Divergent by Veronica Roth. Another dystopian YA novel (what can I say, they make quick, entertaining reads. Especially perfect for summer!), this one set in what was once Chicago. The population has been divided into 5 factions, based on character traits, with children able to move between factions at age 16. Our hero Tris was raised in Abnegation (character trait: selflessness), but she tests as Divergent (not belonging to any faction), which she learns is a dangerous thing to be. Hunger Games-esque (in that it is dystopian YA), but I liked the romance storyline is Divergent better. This is also going to be a trilogy and I’m looking forward to book two.

Hometown Appetites: The Story of Clementine Paddleford, the Forgotten Food Writer Who Chronicled How America Ate by Kelly Alexander. This book was a great introduction to someone I knew nothing about – Clementine Paddleford, a smart and ambitious Kansas farm girl, who grew up to be a journalist with the New York Herald-Tribune, travelling the world and writing about food. Pretty amazing life, she had.

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne Valente. A YA fantasy novel that somewhat defies description. Imaginative and magical. Looking forward to reading the sequel.

What I Read: July 2013

Leave a Reply

