What I Read: October 2013

I read 3 books in October – 2 non-fiction, 1 fiction. 2 on Kindle, 1 in print.

The New York Regional Mormon Singles Halloween Dance: A Memoir by Elna Baker. I love a memoir, and Baker is a funny, self-deprecating writer. It’s a lot about being Mormon and faith in general, and also a good bit about body image (Baker lost a LOT of weight in her early 20s). There is a lot of focus on kissing. Like enough that I thought it was weird. I wanted to shout: Kissing is awesome, but not actually a big enough deal that everyone you kiss gets his own chapter (and I say this as someone who has kissed less people than Ms. Baker. I know because she lists them all.) So maybe read if you are curious about Mormons, but really if you want to read a funny memoir about someone from a fairly conservative Christian group, I recommend Mennonite in a Little Black Dress by Rhoda Janzen.

The China Study: The Most Comprehensive Study of Nutrition Ever Conducted and the Startling Implications for Diet, Weight Loss and Long-Term Health by T. Colin Campbell. I picked this up based on this post on Girl Gone Child. I’m interested in nutrition and women in my family tend to get osteoporosis, so I thought this would be good to read. Dr. Cambell makes a very compelling case that animal protein (not just meat, but also dairy and eggs) are bad for you and increase your risk for all sorts of diseases. He has switched to a basically vegan diet as a result of his research, which I’m not looking to do at this point, but I am trying to be more thoughtful about the animal protein that I eat, and not eat it as a default/choose vegetarian or vegan option more often.

Mrs. Harris, M.P. by Paul Gallico. This the third book in the four book Mrs. Harris series. It is available as an eBook (while the first two are not), so I checked it out from the library… and didn’t like it much. The first two are much more light and charming. In this book Mrs. Harris (spoiler alert) mostly just fails at being a Member of Parliament, which wasn’t too uplifting. It makes me wonder why this got rereleased as an eBook and the other two did not!

What I Read: October 2013

Leave a Reply

