What I Read: November 2013

*Update: Turns out I read 4 books in November. I somehow completely skipped the fact that I read the The Thirteenth Tale. Which was Really, Really good, so I have no idea how I did that. It has been added below.*

November was another not as light a reading month as I thought – I read 3  4 books, all fiction. 2 were in print, 1 was 2 were on the Kindle.

The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells by Andrew Sean Greer. After her twin brother dies of AIDS and her long-time partner, Nathan, leaves her, Greta Wells goes to electroconvulsive therapy to deal with her depression. After first session, Greta wakes up the next day in 1918, living the life of a parallel Greta Wells. The day after that she’s in 1941, and the book continues this way, switching between 1985 (the original Greta) and the other two years. Some aspects of her life are the same in each year, some are different, and all the Greta’s are struggling in some way (but it’s not depressing, just interesting). This has been one of my favorite books of the year. I recommend it.

Elegy for Eddie by Jacqueline Winspear. The 9th book in the Maisie Dobbs series. In this one, Maisie investigates the death of a man she knew from her childhood in a poor London neighborhood. This is a really enjoyable mystery series for me.

Bluffton: My Summers with Buster Keaton by Matt Phelan. Matt Phelan is a phenomenal graphic novelist and so I was very excited to learn that I had one a review copy of his latest book through the LibraryThing Early Reviewers program. Unfortunately, it was not a finished copy of the book, which was a shame, mostly because I think if I had seen it in all it’s glory, it would have been a 5 star book. The review copy was uncolored and definitely looked unfinished – and since it’s a graphic novel, that has an effect in a way that is doesn’t when you are reading a straight print book. Still Phelan maintains his status as THE graphic novelist of historical fiction. He has a knack for finding the great story in “real” life, and this fictionalized look at the summers Buster Keaton and his fellow vaudevillians spent in Bluffton, MI is no exception. Definitely worth picking up if you like graphic novels at all.

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. This has been on my To Read list forever, so when it was a Kindle Daily Deal earlier this year, I picked it up for cheap. Vida Winter, a bestselling but reclusive and mysterious novelist is dying and she has picked Margeret Lea, bookseller and amateur biographer, to finally reveal her life story too. This is an intriguing Gothic tale of family, madness, twins, and tragedy. And even though I don’t usually like dark stuff, I liked this! Definitely worth picking up.

What I Read: November 2013

Leave a Reply

