Life List #61. Visit the FDR Memorial.

Franklin Delano Roosevelt is my favorite president. I am a fan of the Civilian Conservation Corps (and in particular all the work they did in our National Parks creating trails). I love the Works Projects/Progress Administration (and especially the work they did recording our American history). I love that FDR thought big and tried to do good for the least among us, despite coming from incredible wealth. I love that he named the first woman to the Cabinet (Frances Perkins, Secretary of Labor, worthy of her own gushing.). I even think he married well (Eleanor FTW!).

Despite all this (and more shamefully, despite living in DC for 13 years now, in relatively close proximity). I had never been to his Memorial. So on a beautiful day this Fall, I corrected that – walking over on my lunch break to check it out.

When you see pictures of the Memorial, you generally see this statute:

Untitled

I thought that was the full Memorial, but I was so wrong. Here is a little tour of the Memorial, but there is so much more. It is definitely worth checking out if you are in DC.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

The Memorial was dedicated in 1997, but the statue with FDR in a wheelchair was not added until 2001, following the protests of disability advocates. It’s a powerful addition to a great monument. You can read more about the monument here.

Life List #61. Visit the FDR Memorial.

Leave a Reply

