Reading About Reading: A Link Round-up

It seems like link round-ups are things that are done on Fridays, and there are a few book/library-related posts lately that have been floating around in my brain, so I thought I would share. Have you read anything good on the internet lately? Leave me a comment with the link(s)!

Genre blocks
Are there genres or themes that you never like to read? What are your reading blocks? I really liked this post and the subsequent comments about what we choose to read (and what we never pick up).

Highbrow media’s sexist blind spot: Romance novels
Why doesn’t the media talk about the best selling segment of the publishing industry more?

“The typical excuse for that exclusion is genre, not gender. But those two words have a common root, and are intertwined in many ways. Romance is seen as unserious and frivolous because women are seen as unserious and frivolous, and romance is written largely by women, for women, about concerns traditionally seen as feminine.”

This is What a Librarian Looks Like
I’m a sucker for any project that celebrates the diversity of librarianship.

“I realized I had a stereotype in my mind of what a librarian looked like, which is one of the reasons I wanted to do this project. Whenever I think something is true, I’m often wrong,” Cassidy said. “I tend to think of librarians as the ones I know from my public library and from school. But there are librarians who are researchers and archivists doing extraordinarily technical work. There are librarians who work in specialized fields who have to know about archaeology, for example, or medicine or research science. The field was broader than I had gone in there thinking.”

This Map Shows The Most Famous Book Set In Every State
I strongly disagree that The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown is the most famous book set in DC.

“Why are they always white children?”
I have been thinking about race and children’s picture books since NPR did a story on the topic last year. That story is also worth a read, but I really liked this more recent post.

“Children living in one of the most diverse countries in the world need to be exposed to people who are not like them. Otherwise they grow up to be the kind of person that freaks out when Coca Cola airs a commercial during the Super Bowl in which “America the Beautiful” is sung in language other than English.”

Reading About Reading: A Link Round-up

Leave a Reply

