What I Read: June

A very late update! I read 3 books in June. One was fiction, two were non-fiction. All were in print!

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan. I picked this up based on recommendations for a “don’t want to put it down, read it in 24 hours” book. It took me slightly longer than 24 hours (have I mentioned I have a toddler), but not much, and I found it totally enjoyable. Clay Jannon is laid off from his web design job, and ends up working as a clerk at a 24 hour bookstore in San Francisco, which is a front for a delightfully nerdy secret society.

Truth & Beauty: A Friendship by Ann Patchett. I read this for the #betterinrealifereadinglist, and you can read my (and others) others thoughts over there if you are curious. In brief, this is a memoir by the writer Ann Patchett of her friendship with the author Lucy Grealy. I found it really lovely.

This I Believe: The Personal Philosophies of Remarkable Men and Women, edited by Jay Allison. If you’ve heard the NPR series, This I Believe, then you know what this is about: short essays by folks from all walks of life about their core beliefs. I especially enjoyed the fact that this book mixed essays from the original series in the 1950s with essays from the current series.

What I Read: June

Leave a Reply

