What I Read: November 2014

I read 4 books in November – 2 fiction, 2 non-fiction, all on my Kindle.

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots by Deborah Feldman (2012).
This memoir was fascinating, horrifying and myopic in the way that you might expect of a 25 year old who has lived her life in a very sheltered religious community. It was sort of amazing to me just how very sheltered a person who lived in Brooklyn could be. Worth reading if you are interested in the Satmar/Hasidism/strict religious communities.

The FitzOsbornes in Exile by Michelle Cooper (2010).
I listened to the first book in this YA series (trilogy? Are all the cool kids doing trilogies these days?) as an audiobook. I liked this book better, and I’m not sure if it’s because I just preferred reading it, or if the book was actually better. In this book, the FitzOsbornes (royal family of the fictional island nation of Montmaray) have been exiled in England after the Germans bombed their home to smithereens.

Delicious!: A Novel by Ruth Reichl (2014).
I’ve read and enjoyed all of Reichl’s memoirs, but I wasn’t sure how I would feel about her fiction. Happily I liked it! Billie Breslin moves to New York and begins working for the soon-to-go-defunct culinary magazine Delicious! There are great descriptions of food and a lovely romance subplot, plus a World War II mystery… basically it was a little fluffy, but such a quick enjoyable read for me. It would be perfect for the beach or a plane!

Yes Please by Amy Poehler (2014).
Let’s just all agree now that Amy Poehler is the kickass, feminist, funny, smart best friend/older sister that we all wish we had. Her book is good. If you like Amy Poehler, you should read it.

What I Read: November 2014

Leave a Reply

