What I Read – March 2015

I read 5 books in March – 4 fiction, 1 non-fiction. 2 were on Kindle, 3 in print.

Bel Canto by Ann Patchett (2001).
I think I will eventually read everything Ann Patchett has written – I just love everything of hers that I’ve read so much. This had a bit of a slow start, but totally sucked me. She is just a beautiful writer and really knows how to create a world and populate it with great characters. Totally recommend.

Hush Hush: A Tess Monaghan Novel by Laura Lippman (2015).
I am a mystery series reader and I love me some Tess Monaghan. I was so excited for a new book to come out – it’s been years, and in an interesting coincidence, Tess is now the mother of a 3 year old in this book. If you like mystery series, especially those with strong female characters, I recommend this one – Baltimore Blues in the first in the series.

Thursdays with the Crown by Jessica Day George (2015).
The third book in the Castle Glower series – the Castle itself (which has the ability to add/delete rooms as required) is less of a character in this book, which is a shame, but still totally enjoyable.

The Penderwicks at Point Mouette by Jeanne Birdsall (2011).
In the third books in the Penderwicks series, the three younger sisters go to Maine with their aunt for a few weeks. Lots of normal summer fun and a few adventures.

How I got to be perfect by Jean Kerr (1978).
My wife is totally in love with Jean Kerr. (She’s been dead for over a decade, so I’m not too jealous). I sometimes read a book aloud before we go to sleep. We’ve read a wide range of things, but right now humorous essays from the 1960s/1970s by writer/mothers are our jam. A few of the essays in this book had been in the one we read previously, but lots of good, new stuff too.

What I Read – March 2015

Leave a Reply

