What I Read: October 2015

I read 5 books in October – all fiction. One was on my Kindle, the rest were actually in print! 3 were by authors of color or Native writers.

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen (1811).
Jane Austen is always a good choice, but I picked this up because it fulfilled two tasks for the Read Harder Challenge (a book published before 1850 and a book written by someone when they were under the age of 25). I just started the challenger this fall and am having such fun with it.

Dance Boots by Linda LaGarde Grover (2010).
Another multitasking book for Read Harder (a collection of short stories and a book that is by or about someone from an indigenous culture). I don’t read many short stories, I guess I like plot with a long game, but I really enjoyed this collection of interconnected stories by Ojibwe author Grover. I wanted to branch because Louise Erdrich and Sherman Alexie (as wonderful as both are) for the “indigenous culture” task and I’m so glad I did!

This One Summer written by Mariko Tamaki, illustrated by Jillian Tamaki (2014).
Cousins Mariko and Jillian Tamaki have collaborated on several graphic novels that I’ve enjoyed and this was another good edition – the story of two middle school aged friends and their summer on the lake. A good capture of the inbetweeness of that age – beginning to be aware of grown up problems in the world, but not really able to process them as adults.

Ms. Marvel Vol. 3: Crushed by G. Willow Wilson (2015).
So love this new Ms. Marvel – and it’s getting me into comics and superheroes again which I’m enjoying as well.

Ash by Malinda Lo (2009).
Another I picked up for Read Harder (book that is a retelling of a classic story). This is a lesbian YA retelling of Cinderella, and I really liked it. I am constantly amazed by the breadth of literature out there these days for queer teens. It is wonderful and makes my heart glad.

What I Read: October 2015

Leave a Reply

