What I Read: November 2015

I read 5 books in November, 2 fiction and 3 non-fiction. Two were on the Kindle, 2 in print, and 1 on audiobook. Two were by writers of color. This puts me at 91 books for the year so far, so of course, I’m going to try to see if I can get to 100 before the year ends!

The Chase by Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg (2014).

The second in the “Fox & O’Hare” series about a strait-laced FBI agent and a mastermind thief who team up to catch high profile criminals. I picked this up on audiobook for my drive to and from NC at the beginning of November and it was perfect – entertaining but not distracting.

Black Man in a White Coat: A Doctor’s Reflections on Race and Medicine by Damon Tweedy (2015).

Tweedy writes about his experience as a black medical student, resident, and eventually psychiatrist, while also highlighting research on racial disparities in health care access and treatment. It was a good elaboration and humanization of a general fact with which I was familiar.

An Edible History of Humanity by Tom Standage (2010).

I picked this up to meet Task 10 of the Read Harder Challenge (a microhistory). I generally love a microhistory, but this one was just okay with me. I really enjoy the first bit about how adopting agriculture affected our evolution, but I was less interested in the effects of food in history in more modern times

A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd (2014).

Middle grades magical realism! Felicity Pickle and her family move around a lot, but when they head to her mama’s home town of Midnight Gulch, Felicity hopes they might stay a while. Midnight Gulch used to be a magical place, and Felicity thinks if she can bring the magic back, maybe she’ll finally have a place to call home. Delightful.

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates (2015).

Coates’ writing on race in America is always a must read and this slim volume – a letter to his son – is beautifully written and hard to read. Coates is not one to sugarcoat and his view of the experience of blackness in America is sometimes bleak, but I’m very glad I read it.

What I Read: November 2015

Leave a Reply

