What I Read: May 2016

I read 6 books in May. 5 were fiction, one was non-fiction. 4 were in print, 2 were on the Kindle. 3 were by writers of color – so I met my 50% goal.

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson (2015).

Super fun graphic novel about a shapeshifter who apprentices herself to a villain (who is actually the good guy).

Saving Montgomery Sole by Mariko Tamaki (2016).

Picked up this YA novel by Mariko Tamaki (who has written some graphic novels that I enjoy) and was delighted to discover that Ms. Montgomery Sole had two moms. Best friends, cosmic mysteries, and homophobic ministers all play a part of this high school tale.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli (2014).

Totally delightful, boy likes boy, nothing terrible happens YA novel. There should be more queer books with happy endings like this!

Fake ID by Lamar Giles (2015).

I’m probably not the target audience, but I enjoyed this YA novel about a teenaged boy whose family is in the witness protection program. Don’t know that I’ll read the next one in the series, but happy to have tried this one.

Journey to Munich by Jacqueline Winspear (2016).

The latest in the Maisie Dobbs series brings our heroine to Germany on a quest to save a valuable British citizen from a detention camp. Good, as always.

The Chicken Chronicles: Sitting with the Angels Who Have Returned with My Memories: Glorious, Rufus, Gertrude Stein, Splendor, Hortensia, Agnes of God, The Gladyses, & Babe: A Memoir by Alice Walker (2011).

My mom had been recommending this book to me for a while, and while I can see why it appeals to her (my parents retired to become farmers and raise 150ish chickens), I super hated it. I read Walker’s daughter’s memoir many years ago, and this book does nothing to dispel the impression that book gave of the elder Walker being kind of a crappy mother (she never mentions her daughter in this book, but does call herself Mommy when talking to/about her chickens). Not my cup of tea.

What I Read: May 2016

Leave a Reply

