What I Read: June 2016

So behind on my round-ups! I read 7 books in June. 5 were fiction, 2 were non-fiction. 5 were in print, one was an audiobook and one was on the Kindle. Four were by authors of color (making June the only month so far where I have exceeded my 50% goal)

The Truth About Twinkie Pie by Kat Yeh (2015).

There have been a lot of recent changes in 12-year-old GiGi’s life. First her sister and guardian won a million dollar prize in a baking contest, then they up and moved from SC to the North Shore of Long Island and GiGi started a fancy new school. Soon enough she is making new friends and unraveling family mysteries in this middle grade novel.

Negroland: A Memoir by Margo Jefferson (2015).

An interesting memoir from critic Margo Jefferson about growing up at the intersection of race and privilege. A glimpse at a black upper middle class childhood in Chicago in the 1940s, 50s & 60s. Well worth reading.

Superfluous Women by Carola Dunn (2015).

The 22nd book in the Daisy Dalrymple mystery series takes us to the countryside where Daisy is convalescing after an illness. While visiting a school friend, a body is discovered (of course). This series is fun and fluffy, just what the doctor ordered.

Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel (2012).

I listened to this one on audiobook. I loved Wolf Hall, although it was sometimes hard to follow all the Thomases, Marys and Janes, and I worried that I would be totally lost on audio, but it was really fine. Sometimes the names would float right over me, but mostly I kept up fine. I counted this one for Read Harder Task 15 (a book of historical fiction set before 1900).

The Language of Baklava by Diana Abu-Jaber (2006).

I am always on the look out for a good food memoir, and this did not disappoint. Diana Abu-Jaber tells of her life, growing up in America (and Jordan) with a Jordanian father, American mother, and lots of really delicious Jordanian food. She has a new food memoir out and I can’t wait to read it!

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor (2011).

I picked this up because it was described as a read-alike for Harry Potter, and it did not disappoint! Sunny, a 12-year-old Nigerian girl with albinism, discovers she has magical powers and has to learn how to control them, while trying to stop a magical serial killer with her classmates. I CANNOT WAIT for the next book in the series to come out.

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Volume 2: Squirrel You Know It’s True by Ryan North (2015).

Squirrel Girl is my favorite Superhero. If you want to read a comic that makes you smile (and is appropriate for all ages), pick up Squirrel Girl!

Advertisements
What I Read: June 2016

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s